2019 Free Expression Awards

Thursday, April 4, 2019
6:30 PM - 11:00 PM
555 Pennsylvania Avenue NW
Washington, DC 20001
United States

The Free Expression Awards is the signature annual benefit for the Newseum and Freedom Forum Institute, recognizing individuals for their courageous acts of, and contributions to, free and fearless expression.

Hosted by Katie Couric and chaired by Mark and Sally Ein, the 2019 Awards will bring together thought leaders, policymakers and philanthropists to celebrate those who are working in the areas of free speech, freedom of press, religious freedom and freedom in the arts and entertainment, and raise vital funds to support educational efforts that illuminate the importance of the First Amendment.

This year's honorees include:

  • Judy Woodruff, Lifetime Achievement Award; anchor and managing editor, PBS NewsHour
  • Bobby Berk, Karamo Brown, Tan France, Antoni Porowski and Jonathan Van Ness, co-hosts, Queer Eye
  • Tarana J. Burke, founder of the 'me too.' movement
  • Ava DuVernay, filmmaker
  • Elizabeth Palmer, Debora Patta and Holly Williams, CBS News foreign correspondents 

We're sorry, the deadline for buying tickets for this event has passed.